B+ Positive

If you google search “the power of positive thinking,” it will result in pages and pages and pages and pages of motivation and self-help.  I think they’re on to something. 

alarm

  This week, I have been bombarded with the idea of staying positive.  A friend recently posted on Facebook that one should begin their day with positive thoughts.  She posted a screenshot of the different alarms that she sets for each day.  Each one had a different title.  Her examples were “welcome to a new day” and “Hooray for good health.”

  This is a screenshot from the alarm clock on my phone.  It’s a bit overkill, but I’d say that’s a pretty positive way to start my day.

 

 

dove

Every so often, I treat myself to a small piece of Dove dark chocolate.  The fun thing about Dove is that inside each foil wrapper is a “fortune.”  This week, this was my “fortune.” 

This took me back to high school after my parents were divorced.  It was a tough time, but my mom thoroughly understood the importance of the message of this “fortune.” At the end of each day, we would have to come up with 2 things that we are thankful for.  Even during the worst of times, there is always something to be thankful for, even the small things like lakes or maps.

Lastly, I have been reading a book about one man’s experience in WWII.  He was in the Air Force.  In one particular section of the book, he goes into detail about his plane crashing into the ocean.  He, along with 2 other men, floated along in their life raft for 30 some odd days.  With little to no food or water, these 3 guys had a tough go of it.  2 of the men decided that they didn’t want to lose their minds, literally, so they would spend hours each day reminiscing about home, recalling in great detail their favorite recipes that their mothers used to make, early childhood memories, singing songs, etc.  The 3rd man wouldn’t participate.  In fact, he wouldn’t really say much at all.  These 3 men were in the same plane crash, the same life raft, had the same amount of food and water, the list goes on…  The 2 men who decided to make the best of the situation survived (I haven’t finished the book, but they’re alive up to where my bookmark is) while the 3rd man became depressed, dwindled to nothing, and eventually died before they were found. 

 This has been my week.  Literally surrounded by the idea of positive thinking.  There have been many times when I have been running ambulance calls back to back to back to back to back.  It can really wear on you.  Most of the time, I unfortunately become growly.  When this happens, my medic partners know I need one or both of these things: food or  sleep.    On the other hand, some of the time, I strive extremely hard to have a good attitude.  I realize the importance of it and how it can often times be catchy.  Even when I pretend to be in a a convincingly good mood, I typically end up less-growly. 

You will have off days.  You will have bad days.  You will get frustrated with clean eating.  You will have a disappointing day a the gym.  Some days you won’t be able to even make it to the gym, despite your greatest efforts.  Keep your head up and stay positive. 

I saw a quote the other day “Whether you think you can, or you think you can’t, you’re right.”

Posted in Me

Leave a Reply

