Banana Ice Cream

IMAG2202

There are many recipes for Paleo ice cream out on the Internets.  I have had my eye on this recipe for awhile; thought I’d give it a whirl.

3 ingredients:
bananas
coconut milk
vanilla 

1. Peel the bananas, wrap them in plastic wrap, throw them into the freezer until they’re frozen solid.  Health-Bent recommends at least 5 hours.  I left mine in there for 3 days.  That works as well.

2. Once the bananas are frozen, put them into a food processor (I have a small food processor so I used my blender) along with the other 2 ingredients.

3. Blend up that business.

4. Eat it up. Sharing optional.

I put the leftovers in a mason jar and stuck that in the freezer.  When you’re ready to have more ice cream, take it out for a little bit so it’s easier to eat.

This recipe is pretty ridicoulously awesome.  The best part is that there isn’t any added sugar.  The bananas make the ice cream perfectly sweet.  I have been known to buy So Delicious coconut ice cream, but this homemade ice cream is cheaper as well as healthier. 

There are many variations to this recipe.  Andrea posted a similar recipe onto my Facebook page which included strawberries.  I may add some chocolate protein powder  next time, that way I can say “Yeah, that was a tough workout today.  I’m gonna go home and have some post-workout protein ice cream.”  That just sounds awesome.

You, too, can enjoy this guilt-free ice cream by using THIS recipe.

 

Leave a Reply

