Portobello Burgers

20130603_181939

I have been hearing about using portobello mushroom caps in the place of hamburger buns quite a bit lately.  Thought I’d give it a whirl.  There are plenty of recipes out there with detailed instructions how to cook the mushrooms, but for this round, I just threw them on the grill as is.  I left them on there for oh, maybe 7-10 minutes. Just long enough for them to soften up a bit. 

For the insides, I used spinach, hamburger sprinkled with a little TJ’s 21 Seasoning Salute, grilled locally made maple bacon from the farmer’s market, and just a little smoked cheddar cheese that a good friend smoked for us.  Had my avocados been a little more ripe, I would have added some slices to my burger. Next time, I will also add a little homemade baconnaise.  This time, I just wanted to try it as simple as I could.  I was looking forward to the fun flavor layering. I was also trying to figure out which vegetable I should have as my side, then thought huh, I think I have enough veggies on this one. 

This was pretty delicious.  It just makes sense.  I like mushrooms on my burgers anyway, so why not use 2 big mushrooms instead of a handful of little ones.  The flavor was great, and the mushrooms really did a great job keeping the burger together.  I think that this will be my new favorite summertime meal.  In the near future, I plan to experiment a little with seasonings on the mushrooms.  The first one that I plan to try is THIS recipe. 

Try out some portobello burgers.  Great substitution.  Grain-free.  Extra veggies.  Good stuff.

One thought on “Portobello Burgers

  1. Pingback: Trader Joe’s 21 Seasoning Salute | The Paleo Paramedic

Leave a Reply

