Paleo Pizza Boats

I love zucchini. I especially love using it in place of bread. I saw this recipe on Facebook earlier this week and made a note to make it asap. My husband LOVES pizza boats, so I welcome this clean version for me.

image

First, get yourself some zucchini. I found 2 medium sized ones. Slice them length wise then scoop out the innards. In the meantime, brown your meat. I used one pound of hamburger. I also threw in some garlic, onion, and Italian seasoning. The recipe called for curry powder and thyme, but I decided to do my own thing. I added the meat mixture, as well as the chopped zucchini insides, to some canned pizza sauce that I found at the store. I typically make it from scratch, but for the sake of time, went store bought. Make sure you check your labels if you go with a store bought sauce. Sugar is sneaky.

Line up the zucchini boats on a nagging sheet. Fill up the boats with the meat sauce. I sprinkled a little parmesan on top as well. Bake for 20-25 minutes at 400°.

I did end up with extra meat sauce on purpose. I filled up the empty pizza sauce jars and froze the extras.

I’m excited about this recipe for 3 reasons. 1. It’s crazy easy to make. 2. I love when recipes substitute vegetables for breads or carbs. 3. It’s delicious.

Zucchini is the perfect thing to use as the boat to hold the meat sauce. It’s very mild, almost flavorless, and softens up quite nicely in the oven. I plan to make this often.

Original recipe found HERE.

image

Leave a Reply

