70% diet, 30% gym

A recent conversation I had:

Friend: I’ve gained a little weight
Me: What are you going to do about it?
Friend: Workout more, maybe get a little more cardio in
Me: What if you cleaned up your diet a little bit and ate better
Friend: Oh, I eat well
Me: And by eating well, you mean that you eat food that you enjoy, but that is terrible for you?

Meanwhile, their diet consists of donuts, fruity pebbles, pizza rolls, cheesy pretzel bites, pizza 1-2x a week, no fruit, no vegetables, and so on and so forth.

I actually had this conversation.  Everyone thinks “I need to get to the gym, I need to get to the gym” or “I workout so that I can eat whatever I want.”  Yes, you need be active, but in order to acquire and maintain  physical fitness, you need to be diligent with your eating as well. It’s not just a gym that will help you in your fitness journey.  I guarantee that if you clean up your eating, you WILL see progress.  You WILL see gains in the gym.  You WILL tone up, shape up, bulk up…whatever your goal is.  Clean eating will help you to run faster, lift harder, and push yourself to a new level. 

Watch those carbs.  Watch those processed foods.  Watch the sugar.  Add vegetables.  Add even more vegetables.  Most people don’t get near enough in their diet.  Drink more water.  Eat more protein.  Once you start eating clean, eat more. For each meal, I try to have a source of protein, a large serving of vegetables, and some sort of fat.  Once a day, I throw in a piece of fruit for dessert.  Simple & clean. 

Questions/concerns? Send me a message or comment below.  I would love to hear from you.  I want to help you figure out this clean thing and reach your fitness goals. 

You’ve got this.  Get after it!

abs in the kitchen

Leave a Reply

