Paleo Chicken Chili

 

chicken chili

Before switching to clean eating, I was a sucker for chicken chili.  My mom makes THE.BEST I’ve ever had.  Cream of chicken soup. Cream of mushroom soup.  Tons and tons and tons of cheese. Beans.  But this chilly, overcast day,I was totally jonesin’ for some Paleoified chicken chili.  Juli, from PaleOMG, has some pretty legit recipes on her site.  I decided to give this one a try, but with a slow cooker spin

Ingredients (for original recipe)
2 lbs chicken, diced into 1 inch cubes
1 red pepper, chopped
1 green pepper, chopped
1 yellow onion, chopped
1-2 jalapenos, seeded and minced (depending how spicy you want it)
1 clove of garlic, minced
1-1.5 cups chicken broth
½ cup canned coconut milk
1 (4 oz) can green chiles
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon garlic powder
½ teaspoon sage
½ teaspoon oregano
¼ teaspoon cumin
¼ teaspoon white pepper
⅛ teaspoon ground red pepper

Instructions
1. Grab a large soup pot, put over medium heat, and add your olive oil and minced garlic.
2. Once the garlic is fragrant, add your chicken to begin to cook down. Mix as needed with a wooden spoon to cook on both sides.
3. Once your chicken is half way cooked through, add in your peppers, onions, jalapeños, and green chiles. Mix together and let cook for about 3 minutes, stirring occasionally.
4. Now add your chicken broth and coconut milk, along with all of your spices.
5. Stir together.
6. Cover and let simmer for about 5-7 minutes to let the flavors meld together.
7. Consume!!

I really wanted to use a slow cooker for this.  I love the idea of throwing everything into the pot in the morning then having a delicious, stress-free meal later in the day.  I just threw the chicken into the slow cooker, added my chicken broth, peppers, onions, chiles, and spices.  I omitted the sage due to pretty healthy allergy.  Also, I didn’t have any red pepper on hand, so I used chili powder instead.  I was fresh out of coconut milk or even heavy whip, so I used almond milk to make is somewhat creamy.  About an hour or two before dinnertime, I took the chicken out, shredded it, then placed it back into the slow cooker.  I ended up cooking my chili about 7-8 hours.  I topped my chili with some avocado and a little green onion.  Served with sweet potato chips. 

Verdict: delicious!  The chili wasn’t as creamy as I expected, but I suppose it would have been had I added the coconut milk.  The consistency was more like a chicken noodle soup without the noodles. It does thinken up a bit the next day. The flavor.  A little spice, a lot of flavor.  Peppers, garlic, oregano, cumin, chili powder.  Just a hearty and perfect flavor layering.  Next time, I plan to use full fat coconut milk and perhaps add a little cilantro into the batch. Other than that, the flavor was spot on.

Love LOVE slow cooker recipes.  This one was definitely a win.  This would be awesomeperfect for the firehouse or on one of those super busy days where you go go go go go and are exhausted come dinner time.  A little prep, then forget about it.  I’ll make this again.  Definitely make this again.  I think husband will even like it.

Happy eating!

Original recipe HERE

4 thoughts on “Paleo Chicken Chili

  1. Pingback: Thanksgiving Turkey Chili | The Paleo Paramedic

  2. Pingback: Maple Paleo Cornbread | The Paleo Paramedic

Leave a Reply

