Baked Delicata Moons

20131104_113002

South Beach Primal posted this recipe on Facebook recently.  I grew up having squash typically as a savory-type dish, so I’m always eager to try a sweeter version of the vegetable. I had never heard of the Delicata squash before (picture HERE), so I went on a mission to find some.  I ended up finding these guys in the organic squash section of my local grocery store.  About a buck and some odd change for one.  Not bad. I brought one to work with me today, thought I’d try this recipe out on some of the fire guys.

Ingredients

  • 1 Delicata squash
  • 1 tbsp butter from grass-fed cows
  • 1 tsp Grade B maple syrup (optional)
  • Salt to taste
  • Cinnamon to taste

Instructions
1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F
2. Wash the skin of the squash, getting in the creases of each ridge.
3. Cut off both ends and then cut long ways down the length of each ridge.
4. Taking a spoon, scoop out the stringy seeds.
5. Vertically, cut 1/2 inch pieces so the squash looks like half-crescent moons
6. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper for easy cleanup (and less sticking).
7. Lay out each moon, cover with melted butter, syrup, salt, and cinnamon.  Try adding the seeds for a nice crunch!
8. After making sure each side is evenly coated, pop the tray in the oven for 25-30 minutes, flipping occasionally.  BE GENTLE!
9. Enjoy!

20131104_105239-1

This squash recipe is delicious!  The butter, syrup, cinnamon, salt combination is perfect.  I also chose to bake the squash seeds.  I had never had squash seeds before and was pleasantly surprised.  Turns out, I prefer them over the every popular pumpkin seeds.  The squash seeds are smaller and easier to eat.  The crunch of the seeds complimented the soft squash quite nicely.  I had this as a snack today, but this could easily be a dessert.  The firefighters approved as well.  Really a perfect sweet snack at the fire station.  It’s easy to prepare with easy clean up. It’s nutritious AND delicious.  Looking forward to making more moons this week.

Happy Eating!
Your Paleo Paramedic

Original recipe HERE.

20131104_113228

Leave a Reply

