Slow Cooker Baked Apples

image

I came across this recipe the other day. I was at work and was looking for a delicious dessert to complete our perfectly Paleo dinner. I had previously posted a winner of a recipe on my blog, but I’m always looking for more recipes. I came across this one on the Health, Home, & Happiness website.

Ingredients
6 medium to large green apples
1/4 cup raisins
1/4 cup honey
1 tsp cinnamon
6 Tbsp coconut oil, butter, or ghee

Instructions
1. Core apples. To core, using an apple corer or paring knife, cut around the core (about 1/4 inch from the stem all the way around), but leave about half an inch at the bottom. Use the knife (I used a large spoon) to “drill out” the core.
2. Divide raisins, honey, cinnamon, and fat among the apples.
3. Place apples in a crock pot and add 1/2 inch of water.
4. Cook on low overnight and enjoy a hot breakfast in the morning.
5. (Optional) Alternatively, bake covered at 350°F in a glass fish for 45 minutes-1 hour.
6. To with heavy whipping cream, coconut milk, or just eat plain.

image

I love this recipe for many reasons. 1. It’s simple. 5 ingredients. That’s it. Most people have all of these ingredients in the pantry already. No extra trips to the store. 2. There is a slow cooker option. I do love crock potified recipes. Throw it in, forget about it, come back later to something delicious. 3. It’s a healthy sweet treat. The honey could easily be substituted to make it even cleaner.

I opted to go the glass dish route. Also, my fat of choice was Kerrygold grass-fed butter. These babies made the fire station kitchen smell all sorts of delicious.  I typically use red apples, the kind you get from a local apple orchard. This time, I opted to stick to the recipe and use the Granny Smith. Delicious. The raisins were plump, the taste was perfectly sweet, and when the apples were served, they were dripping with buttery goodness.

Another recipe win. This recipe is firefighter approved. Perhaps next time I will try the slow cooker option.

Happy eating!

Original recipe HERE.

image

Leave a Reply

