Paleo Pumpkin Pie

image

Thanksgiving is one of my favorites.  Everyone gathered together, a table full of food, a heart of thankfulness.  Speaking of food….since deciding to eat clean, it has become a bit more difficult to partake in holiday meals.  Many traditional favorites are full of ingredients that I choose not to eat.  Lately, I have been keeping my eyes open for great Thanksgiving recipes. Cleaner options. So.many.recipes. Elana’s Pantry recently posted this pumpkin pie recipe.  Now, just so you know, I definitely prefer pie over cake and I’m somewhat of an aficionado. I do make a mean pumpkin pie…with my grandma’s secret pie crust recipe.  BUT, since my family pumpkin pie recipe isn’t so much Paleo, I thought I’d try my hand at this one.  Elana’s Pantry is good about posting fantastic recipes.  I was optimistic.

Ingredients

1 (15 oz ) can pumpkin puree (or 1.5 Cu homemade pumpkin puree)
3 eggs
1/2 Cu coconut milk (full fat)
1/3 cu honey
2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg

Crust
2 Cu blanched almond flour
1/4 tsp sea salt
2 Tbsp coconut oil
1 egg

Makes 1 pie crust
Recipe HERE

Instructions
Prepare the crust first
1. Place flour and salt in food processor and pulse briefly
2. Add coconut oil and egg.  Pulse until mixture forms a ball.
3. Press dough firmly into a 9-inch pie dish, set aside.
4. In a food processor, combine pumpkin puree and eggs.
5. Pour filling into Paleo Pie Crust
6. Bake at 350° for 45 minutes
7. Allow to cool completely then refrigerate for approx 2 hours to set up

Makes 1 pie

Topping
Heavy whipping cream
vanilla
cinnamon

I don’t have exact measurements.  I just pour and sprinkle and whip the crap out of it by hand.  Truly made with love.

Ever the skeptic, I was pleasantly surprised at how this pie turned out.  Really, it turned out perfectly.  Towards the end of baking, the crust was getting dangerously golden so I placed some tinfoil on top for the last 10 minutes or so.  Other than that, the recipe was relatively simple.  There are a handful of ingredients, but basically you just mix them together.  Nothing fancy.  I would make this pie again…and often.  It truly tastes like pumpkin pie.  The whipped topping really makes this pumpkin pie the perfect ending to your traditional Thanksgiving dinner.  Best part is, it’s guilt-free.  Grain-free, dairy-free, and the only sugar is the honey.

Try it out this Thanksgiving.  See if your dinner guests notice a difference.  I’d bet they won’t.  This would also be the perfect item to take along to that dinner party you’ve been invited to.  This way, you know EXACTLY what went into the pie and can enjoy a care-free dessert.  pairs well with coffee.

I hope you enjoy this pie as much as I do!

Happy Eating!

Recipe HERE.

image

One thought on “Paleo Pumpkin Pie

  1. Pingback: Thanksgiving Turkey Chili | The Paleo Paramedic

Leave a Reply

