Slow Cooker Cranberry Sauce

image

I’m a sucker for cranberry sauce.  A Thanksgiving staple that can easily be forgotten.  I guess I grew up having the canned cranberry sauce…didn’t know any better.  This year I decided to try something a little different.  The ingredient list just screamed FLAVOR!  I was all about it.  Here is what you need to know:

Ingredients
One 14 ounce bag of cranberries
One medium Bartlett pear, cored and diced smaller than the cranberries
Juice and zest of one medium orange
One tablespoon of freshly grated ginger
1/4 cup raw honey
1/4 cup coconut sap crystals/coconut sugar

Instructions
1. Wash your cranberries (turns out, cranberries are pretty dirty). Strain excess water off before dumping into your slow cooker.
2. Add your pear, orange juice, orange zest, and ginger. Stir.
3. Add your honey and coconut crystals. Try your best to stir evenly. If clumps form, set them towards the top.
4. Leave your lid slightly cracked to allow excess moisture to cook off, which will provide a thicker sauce.
5. Cook on high for 3 hours or low for 5 hours. If doubling the recipe, cook on high for 4 hours or low for 6 hours.

The only thing that I changed was the ginger…accidentally.  I read tsp vs Tbsp so I did not buy enough ginger.  Otherwise, the recipe was followed to a T.  I have so much to say about this recipe, but to keep this post short, let me summarize my thoughts with bullet points.

1. This cranberry sauce made my house smell A-MAY-ZING.  After throwing this together in the slow cooker, my husband and I left for a bit to run some errands. When we got back, my house smelled like Christmas.  It was an olfactory delight. Way better than a candle. 
2. This is THE best cranberry sauce that I have ever had. The cranberry.  The orange.  The pear.  The ginger. Wow.  Just…wow.  It’s a perfect punch of flavor.  Everything goes together really well.  Great layering. 
3.  I visited with Jason, the guy behind PaleoPot , a little about this recipe.  We talked about the pears.  Pears aren’t typically found in your traditional cranberry sauce.  The purpose for pears is twofold.  A. The pears add sweetness.  Sure, honey and coconut crystals add sugar, but really, nothing beats that natural sugar that you get from fruit.  B. Pears have pectin.  Pectin is a thickener.  Nature’s thickening agent.  Boom!
4.  Next time, I would double the receipe. I can’t get enough.  This recipe made about 2 cups, give or take.  Not nearly enough for those of us who pile on the cranberry sauce.
5. Only a handful of ingredients.  The only prep “work” really is with the orange and the ginger.  With a sharp microplane, it takes no time at all.  Quick and simple.

In short, this recipe is a huge win.  This WILL be made again (and again and again and again).  Thanks, Jason from PaleoPot, for making our turkey better, for making our house smell like cranberry spice, and for a more colorful Thanksgiving table this year. 

Happy Thanksgiving!

Recipe HERE.

image

Leave a Reply

