Caffeine-Free Christmas

I love coffee.  Coffee ranks right up there with bacon. I just love coffee. Maybe a little too much.

Today is day 1 of no caffeine. It’s not a week long detox or a 30 day challenge. I’m just done. I took a few days off and thought now would be a good time to go through the withdrawls….at home instead of work.

On an average day, I drink at least 6 cups…up to 10 or 12.  Sometimes an energy drink or 2. Kind of a slight problem. I realized that something needed to change when I had to turn to energy drinks to wake up. 

Coffee tended to take the place of water. I would choose the energy over the hydration.  Bad. Just another reason to get off the sauce.

Coffee has tendency to curb one’s appetite. How about instead of filling my guts with drink, I fill them with food….nutrition. Reason 3.

A couple years ago, when I first tried Paleo, I quit coffee and all other caffeinated products.  I think I lasted maybe 4 or 5 months. The first couple few days I wanted to kill, but after that, I felt pretty great. I slept better, I actually had more energy, I felt better, my teeth were whiter (husband was quick to notice this one).

So here we are, another caffeine-free adventure. Cold turkey, done. I’m ok with that.

-your Caffeine-free Paleo Paramedic

Leave a Reply

