Minted Zucchini

20140117_164012

While on the lookout for a new side dish, I found this gem by The Paleo Mom.  Minted zucchini.  It seemed light yet filling.  I always like to find delicious recipes where vegetables take the spotlight.

Ingredients
2 medium zucchini, halved and sliced into ¼” semicircles
2 Tbsp fresh mint, chopped
1 Tbsp coconut oil

Instructions
1.     Heat a skillet over medium heat.  Add coconut oil and zucchini.
2.    Sautee zucchini until soft and just starting to brown, about 5-6 minutes, stirring frequently.
3.    Add mint and continue to cook for 1 minute. Serve!

Best part, hands down, is the ease of this recipe. 3 ingredients, 3 steps.  I actually dug out my spiral slicer for this one.  I use a Paderno slicer that I bought for about $30 on Amazon.  One of my favorite kitchen gadgets.  I really dig veggie “noodles,” so I thought I’d try a spiral spin on this recipe.  I also set aside some “noodles” and added some s&p and garlic.  Both zucchini “noodle” versions turned out great.  This recipe could be used as a fresh ending to a meal or even just as a snack.  The mint and zucchini go together surprisingly well.  I feel like the only way to describe it is clean and fresh.  Refreshing I suppose.  I will most definitely be making this one again.  It’s a minty win!

Happy eating!

Recipe HERE

Leave a Reply

