Pureed Parsnips

20140312_191320

Parsnips.  Ever heard of them?  Ever tried them?  Parsnips are a root vegetable, similar to a carrot.  Honestly, I told my husband they were white carrots.  He ate them (just a small VICTORY!!) They’re high in a ton of vitamins and minerals, particularly potassium.  My mom used to add them to pot roast, along with carrots, potatoes, and onions.  I’ve been eating these buggers for years.  A few years ago, a friend of mine made parsnip puree for a dinner party I attended.  I loved them.  Thought I’d try my hand at it.

Honestly, I just googled parsnip puree.  I love Epicurious so I used their recipe as a guide.

Ingredients
10 medium parsnips (4 pounds total), peeled and chopped into 1/2-inch-thick slices
12 tablespoons (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter
1/2 cup chicken stock or low-sodium chicken broth
1 tablespoon fine sea salt
2 teaspoons freshly ground black pepper

Instructions
1. In heavy large pot combine parsnips with enough cold water to cover.
2. Place over moderately high heat, cover, and bring to a boil.
3. Continue boiling until tender, about 30 to 45 minutes.
4. Drain.
5. Working in 2 batches, pureé hot parsnips, butter, and chicken stock until smooth.
6. Transfer to large serving dish, stir in salt and pepper, and serve immediately.

This recipe is really easy to make.  I do love easy recipes.  Ok, here is what I did.  First of all, I cut the recipe way back. I was only cooking for 1…not 10.  Peel the parsnips then chop them.  I chopped them as I would potatoes for mashed potatoes.  20 minutes due to the small amount of parsnips.  You know they’re ready when you can stick a for through them.  I drained them then put them into the blender.  It was the perfect amount.  Honestly, I guessed on the rest of the ingredients. Maybe 1 Tbsp of butter, enough chicken stock to make the parsnips creamy, and s&p to taste.  Blend and taste.  Blend and taste. Done and done.

I was thoroughly impressed at how these guys turned out.  They look like mashed potatoes and are velvety smooth.  Parsnips have their own distinct flavor, so there’s still a hint of the parsnip, but the chicken stock and s&p also add so much.  Husband didn’t even mind them.  (I don’t know if he would ever request them, but he said they’re not bad.)

I whipped these bad boys up to go with some roast I had in the slow cooker for hours.  Typically I add sweet potatoes, onions, and parsnips.  This time, I chose to puree them.  For sure happy with this decision.  I even had extra to heat up the next day.  They reheat quite well.

From my reading, parsnips are indeed Paleo, however they should be treated like sweet potatoes.  Super nutritious, yet super starchy. To be enjoyed sparingly.  Not an everyday kind of thing.

I definitely recommend this dish.  Great way to get your veggies in.

Original recipe HERE.

Happy Eating!

20140312_191507

One thought on “Pureed Parsnips

  1. Pingback: Mashed Beets | The Paleo Paramedic

Leave a Reply

