BBQ Pork Omelette

bbq2

For St. Patrick’s Day, I visited my uncles in Chicago.  I’m so glad that they have a love for food, good food, like I do.  While there, we ate blittle goatrunch at a trendy little place called The LittleGoat. One of the specials that day was a BBQ pork omelette.  Duh.  Ever since I took that first bite, I haven’t been able to stop thinking about this omelette.  You guys.  Unbelievably fantastic. You have your traditional 3 egg omelette.  Add a little cream cheese and BBQ pulled pork inside and top with BBQ sauce, French fried onions, and a sprinkle of cilantro.  I have never tasted anything like it.  I had already begun to create this dish for myself in my head.

This morning, I enjoyed my very own BBQ pork omelette.  Here it is.

Ingredients
3 eggs
Approx 1 cup cooked pork short ribs (recipe HERE)
BBQ sauce (I use TPFAK Primal BBQ Sauce from my friends in Maine)
S&P to taste
1 Tbsp unsalted butter (I use Kerrygold)

Instructions
1. Melt butter in a skillet on medium heat
2.  While butter is melting, crack the eggs into a bowl and whisk well
3. Pour the egg mixture into the hot pan, then let the eggs set a little along the edges (it will only take a few seconds)
4. Using a spatula, pull the eggs in from all four sides toward the center, allowing the liquid eggs to flow underneath the set ones (eggs will look lumpy and slightly scrambled).
5. When the eggs are set on the outside but still slightly soft on the inside, add the pork (and sauce if you’d like).  (Don’t worry about the runny eggs in the middle. The eggs will continue cooking once the omelet is rolled.)
6. Fold one side of the omelet in with your spatula. The other side will fold over as you tilt it onto the plate.
7. Tilt the skillet to fold the final third of the omelet over, then turn the skillet a little more so the omelet falls onto the plate fold-side down. Season to taste with salt and pepper and top with BBQ sauce.
8. Congratulations, you omelette-maker, you.

I had made my very favorite slow cooker ribs a few days ago.  From past experience, I know that the ribs and eggs pair perfectly.  Lightbulb moment.  It was perfect.  Eggs, pork, BBQ sauce.  For a little extra fun and flavor, I also added a little feta cheese inside the omelette as well as on the top.  I’m fresh out of cilantro, otherwise I would have thrown a little of that stuff on top as well.

Spot hit, man. This is for sure a must try.  The perfect way to enjoy those leftover short ribs.  Guaranteed I’ll be making this again.  Shoot, I may even have it for lunch and dinner as well.

Original omelette recipe HERE
Original ribs recipe HERE

Happy Eating, friends.

-Lindsay

Leave a Reply

