The World’s Easiest Cookie

IMG_20160502_142439.jpg

This recipe showed up in my news feed a few days ago, and I have been anxious to make them ever since I laid eyes on them.  TRULY the easiest cookies that I have ever made.  Paleo, GF, vegan, easy, delicious.  Sounds legit to me.  Here’s what you need to know:

Ingredients
2 cups almond flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/3 Cu real maple syrup
2 tsp vanilla extract

Instructions

Preheat the oven to 350°F. Line a rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper.

Whisk the almond flour and baking powder together in a medium mixing bowl. Switch to a spoon and stir in the maple syrup and vanilla. Stir until a sticky dough forms and holds together.

Drop rounded tablespoons of the dough onto the prepared baking sheet, about one inch apart. For crisp cookies, press down the dough lightly with the flat bottom of a drinking glass or measuring cup. (If the glass sticks to the dough, dip the bottom in water.) For softer cookies, don’t press down the dough.

Place oven rack in the middle of the oven.  Bake until the edges are golden brown, about 12 minutes. Allow the cookies to cool on the pan for about 3 minutes, then transfer them to a wire rack to cool completely. Cool baking sheet between batches.

Note: feel free to add in chocolate chips, nuts, or dried fruit prior to baking.

Thoughts

I was a little skeptical about the recipe from the get go mainly due to the fact that it doesn’t have eggs or butter.  Uhhh…..what?!?  Turns out, the maple syrup does a pretty great job of keeping the dough together.  As a mix-in, I added some Enjoy Life brand chocolate chips. Have you tried these little gems before?  They’re gluten-free, dairy free, peanut free, soy free, egg free….and amazingly delicious.

My sweet tooth was in a hurry today, so I completely missed the part in the recipe about whisking the baking powder and almond flour together.  I pretty much just dumped everything into a bowl and started mixing.  I’m taking a couple of online classes this semester, one being statistics.  All semester long, I have been struggling with getting homework problems wrong because I read the question too quickly, missing vital information.  Clearly, I still struggle with this basic task, but at least with this recipe, I don’t lose any points!!

The recipe mentions that you can smash the cookies with a glass if you’re into crispy cookies.  I’m not a huge fan of crispy cookies, so I just left the dough as plops on the pan.  After I took them out of the oven, the cookies stayed as plops, so I smashed a few of the cookies with the bottom of a drinking glass mainly out of curiosity.  Next time, I may smash the before oven time just to compare.

I really like the flavor of the cookies.  The nutty flavor from the almond flour and the sweetness from the maple syrup is probably one of my favorite flavor combinations.  It’s at least in my top 10.  Add some vanilla and chocolate chips, and you’re golden!  I also really like how subtly sweet these cookies are.  Oftentimes, when I have desserts, they’re overwhelmingly sweet.  These are perfect to satisfy that sweet tooth in a guilt free way.  As far as their shape, the cookies are still delicious whether they’re smashed or whether they’re plops.  I’m not one to discriminate.

Now, I just need to find a cup of coffee.  I think I need to try another cookie….for research purposes, of course.

Original recipe HERE.

-TPP

 

 

Leave a Reply

