Paleo Chicken Noodle Soup

IMG_20160504_114715

This past week has been utterly exhausting.  I worked a ridiculous amount of hours, drove  over 1,100 miles in 7 days, and went to a Garth Brooks concert that didn’t get out until 0200.  Exhausting is the pretty much the best way to describe my week.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I am in no way complaining.  This week has been fun, however, my body isn’t so much a fan.

I had a scratchy throat yesterday am.  I got allergy shots around 1400 (sidenote: according to my allergist’s office, I currently win the prize for receiving the most potent allergy shots.  Goals…) and by 1600, I had a fever, headache, and body aches. I was pretty miserable. I knew it was bound to happen.  This always happens whenever I overdo it.

Essential Oils, some Tylenol, and a pain pill for my hip, then straight to bed.  I was really hoping to wake up feeling amazing and ready to conquer the day. Definitely not the case.  My body still hates me.  I hadn’t eaten for hours (I know I’m sick when I pass up food.  And bacon.  And don’t even touch my coffee), so I thought I should probably have at least a little sustenance.  I did a quick google search for Paleo Chicken Noodle Soup, and this one seemed like the easiest.  Here’s what you need to know:

Chicken Noodle Soup

Ingredients
2 Tbsp coconut oil
1 small onion, minced
5 or 6 carrots, peeled and sliced thin (recipe called for 1.  I needed more veggies!)
3 celery ribs, sliced
2 tsp minced fresh thyme, or 1/2 tsp dried (I omitted this.  I was fresh out…..of thyme)
2 to 2.5 Qt bone broth (I used 2)
2 cloves minced garlic
3 Cu shredded chicken (I used an entire rotisserie chicken)
1/4 Cu minced fresh parsley
s&p to taste
Here is where I diverted from the recipe.  Instead of GF noodles, the recipe calls for eggs.  Interesting idea.  Seems legit.  Perhaps next time, or in a pinch, I can use eggs for noodles)

Instructions
Heat the oil in a large Dutch oven over medium-high heat until melted.
Add the onion, carrots, garlic, and celery.  Cook until softened, 3-4 min.
Stir in the thyme, bone broth, and chicken.
Bring to a simmer and cook until the vegetables are tender, about 15 min.
Stir in parsley.
This is when I added in my GF noodles.  I cut them into 1-2″ pieces then dropped them into the pot.  I let the soup simmer for a while, while I took a nap.

Thoughts

I’m sure my husband wouldn’t have minded if I had commandeered one of his cans of Campbell’s chicken noodle soup with stars, but…..I thought perhaps I needed something a little more…wholesome.  I was craving some homemade soup… the stuff mom used to make growing up.  So, I drove to the local Natural Grocers to gather my supplies.  Organic rainbow carrots, celery, onion, and garlic.  Homemade bone broth would have been ideal, but I just wasn’t feelin it.  Pacific Foods chicken bone broth was the winner.  I know by now, you’re probably wondering how to make Paleo noodles.  Cappello’s makes fantastic GF products, including GF fettucine noodles.  I grabbed a box of this as well.  Oh, and some jelly beans and local chocolate milk, mainly just because I do what I want when I’m sick.  After checking out, I swung by the grocery store to get a rotisserie chicken.  I know it’s cheating.  I don’t care.  It’s quick, easy, and affordable.

I followed the recipe for the most part.  I did add a little bacon grease to the coconut oil at the very beginning.  Duh.  Can’t go wrong with bacon grease.

I was extremely impressed with how easy this recipe is, but more importantly how delicious it tasted.  The flavor was spot on…well, from what I can taste with stuffy nose.  It tastes just like mom made it.  Perfect.  This recipe makes a pretty decently sized batch, so there will be plenty of leftovers.  I’m looking forward being hungry again and digging into to this chickeny noodley comfort food goodness.

Do you make homemade chicken noodle soup?  Do you add anything differently than what I used?   I’m curious!

Original recipe HERE

Happy eating! I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I do!

-TPP

IMG_20160504_123323

Leave a Reply

