Baked Fried Chicken Tenders with Maple Dijon Dipping Sauce

image

Boneless skinless chicken breast tenders were on sale today. Totally craving some chicken tenders comfort food. Here is what I came up with.

Ingredients
Chicken
1-2# boneless chicken breast tenders
2 eggs
Approx 2 cups Almond meal (with the skins)
1 Tbsp Grass-fed butter (melted)
S&P for a hint of flavor

Maple Dijon dipping sauce
Dijon mustard (check labels for sneaky sugar)
Real maple syrup

Instructions
1. Preheat oven to 425°.
2. Pour the almond flour into a bowl, season with s&p
3. In a separate bowl, mix together eggs and butter.
4. Dredge the chicken in egg/butter mixture then coat in almond meal.
5. Arrange the chicken in a single layer on a baking sheet or oven safe dish.
6. Bake at 425° for 60 minutes or until chicken is brown and crispy.
7. In the meantime, mix together maple dijon dipping sauce. I use a 2:1 ration. 2 parts mustard, 1 part maple syrup.
8. Once chicken is cooked, remove from oven, the juices should run clear when pierced with a knife. Let cool for a minute or 2. Serve with dipping sauce and enjoy.

There are a thousand recipes out out on the Internets similar to this one. From memory, I just kind of threw this together on my own.  Really, I just had the almond meal in my cupboard that I wanted to use up.  Figured this would be a good way.

I provided you with the basic version of these chicken tenders.  For a few of the chicken strips, I added some Italian seasoning to the almond meal mixture.  Once cooked, I dipped the chicken into marinara sauce.  Experiment with flavors and see what you can come up with.  One could make this recipe a plethora of different ways.  Garlic, rosemary, cayenne pepper, lemon, etc…

These chicken bits come out perfectly crispy.  At the temperature that I cooked them, they have just the right amount of crisp while keeping the chicken tender and juicy.  Pretty good combo.

Really, this is so easy…and cleanup is a breeze.  Easy, clean way to enjoy some chicken strips. It will save you time and will for sure be a hit.

Happy eating!

Leave a comment